Follow Zaufishan's Pins

Haribo sweets are (semi) Halal!

Saturday, 5 September 2009

In the name of God, Compassionate, Merciful بسم الله الرحمن الرحيمِ | Peace be with you السلام عليكم

In the name of God, compassionate & merciful بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيمِ | Peace be with you السلام عليكم

Haribo ARE halal! Did you read that clearly. HARIBO ARE HALAL! Oh, the skies are split asunder and rainbows glimmer from my eyes.

Most mainstream jelly-fied sweets are haram (not permitted, unhealthy) for Muslims because they contain a variety of animal products and ingredients such as animal whey powder, animal gelatine and animal derived colourings, preservatives etc. Muslim food is similar to Kosher food. Both require that only permitted animals are eaten and they are slaughtered as pain-free as possible.

A Muslim's dieting lifestyle comes under the heading of 'Meat-eating-Vegetarian'. We eat meat, we love it, but it needs to be of a certain kind. God made all creatures, great and schmoll, but that doesn't mean we go prehistoric and eat everything. ...Unless it's chocolate.

I doubt Haribo's biggest marketing strategy was to make their jellied sweets Kosher or Halal. But hey, hey, hey! Look who pumped up the ethics and stuck Kosher and Halal labels over (most) of their products lines?

(A Halal/Helal label, Vegetarian assurance and Kosher approved in corner)

Well done to Mr Haribo, kudos for trying to please the rest of the people who love your forbidden squidginess. Ever noticed how haram foods are more 'alluring'? That's the Devil's play for you. Evil haramness.

I've eaten one packet; the shops were selling them at 4 for a quid (£1). Guess how many I bought... (smug look)